Film Feld Forschung

With the non-profit society Film Feld Forschung, founded in 2016 by Jörg Heitmann and Bettina Ellerkamp, silent green is dedicated to the various fields of application of the audiovisual. The focus of this work is the former underground mortuary - the "Betonhalle" on the grounds of the silent green - as a centre for audiovisual research. Here, under laboratory conditions, the audiovisual can be broken down into its individual building blocks of image, sound and language, viewed analytically and reassembled with the means of free artistic experimentation. This creates a space for theoretical and practical research with and in the language of the medium of film. Where not only the finished product counts, but also the confrontation in the process of creating an artistic work.

Since its foundation, Film Feld Forschung has realised numerous exhibitions, film screenings and discourse formats, such as Edit Film Culture!, The Garden. Cinematics of The Soil and The Third Life of Agnès Varda. The interdisciplinary approach addresses acute societal issues around ecology, collective work and the promotion of female perspectives in art and culture.

With the kind support of the Goethe-Institut, Film Feld Forschung has already welcomed three scholarship holders to silent green: the Cairo-based media artist Maha Maamoun in 2016/17, the experimental film icon Shelly Silver, who completed her three-month residency in 2017, and the artist and filmmaker Oliver Husain in 2021. In 2022, the artist duo XiuXiu will also be guests.

Film Feld Forschung aims to address a broad art and cultural audience as well as local residents, artists and cultural actors from all sectors. A particular concern is the creation of synergies and the informal networking of audiences, artists and institutions. With the revitalisation of the formerly vacant, listed building by silent green, a sustainable creative infrastructure is to be created that is firmly anchored in the neighbourhood and at the same time a cultural attraction beyond Berlin.

Film Feld Forschung is a project by silent green under the direction of Bettina Ellerkamp, Jörg Heitmann, Stefanie Schulte Strathaus and Linda Winkler.

Projects

All projects
All projects

Film Feld Forschung

silent green Film Feld Forschung

Mit der 2016 von Jörg Heitmann und Bettina Ellerkamp gegründeten gemeinnützigen Gesellschaft Film Feld Forschung widmet sich das silent green den verschiedenen Anwendungsbereichen des Audiovisuellen. Im Mittelpunkt dieser Arbeit steht die ehemalige unterirdische Leichenhalle – die „Betonhalle“ auf dem Gelände des silent green – als Zentrum für audiovisuelle Forschung. Hier kann das Audiovisuelle unter Laborbedingungen in seine einzelnen Bausteine Bild, Ton und Sprache zerlegt, analytisch betrachtet und mit den Mitteln des freien künstlerischen Experiments neu zusammengesetzt werden. So entsteht ein Raum für die theoretische und praktische Forschung mit und in der Sprache des Mediums Film. Wo nicht nur das fertige Produkt zählt, sondern auch die Auseinandersetzung im Entstehungsprozess einer künstlerischen Arbeit.

Seit seiner Gründung hat Film Feld Forschung zahlreiche Ausstellungen, Filmscreenings und Diskursformate umgesetzt, wie u. a. Edit Film Culture!, The Garden. Cinematics of The Soil und Das dritte Leben der Agnès Varda. Der interdisziplinäre Ansatz greift dabei akute gesamtgesellschaftliche Fragestellungen um Ökologie, kollektives Arbeiten und die Förderung weiblicher Perspektiven in Kunst und Kultur auf.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Goethe-Insituts durfte Film Feld Forschung zudem bereits drei Stipendiat*innen im silent green begrüßen: Die in Kairo lebende Medienkünstlerin Maha Maamoun in 2016/17, die Experimentalfilm-Ikone Shelly Silver, die 2017 ihren dreimonatigen Aufenthalt absolvierte sowie den Künstler und Filmemacher Oliver Husain in 2021. In 2022 wird zudem das Künstler-Duo XiuXiu zu Gast sein.

Film Feld Forschung möchte ein breites Kunst- und Kulturpublikum ebenso ansprechen wie Anwohner*innen, Künstler*innen und Kulturakteur*innen aller Sparten. Ein besonderes Anliegen ist dabei das Erzeugen von Synergien und die informelle Vernetzung von Publikum, Künstler*innen und Institutionen. Mit der Wiederbelebung des ehemals leerstehenden, denkmalgeschützten Gebäudes durch silent green soll eine nachhaltige kreative Infrastruktur entstehen, die fest in der Nachbarschaft verankert und zugleich kultureller Anziehungspunkt über Berlin hinaus ist.

Film Feld Forschung ist ein Projekt von silent green unter der Leitung von Bettina Ellerkamp, Jörg Heitmann, Stefanie Schulte Strathaus und Linda Winkler.

Projekte

Alle Projekte
Alle Projekte