CANCELLED - Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin

Chamber Concert

Forever and Ever

Music for the end of time

Wonderfully ambitious!

Do it as Goethe did who if he could attend this chamber concert, would have had to change his famous sentence: "From here and now a new epoch in the history of music emanates and you can say you were there". Messiaen's breathtaking masterpiece, the Quartet on the End of Time, was written in 1940 in a prisoner-of-war camp near Görlitz. It expresses the struggle between divine creation and human destruction with a timeless and expressive musical language. Thomas Adès, British composer and conductor, has repeatedly recommended himself to the RSB. His seven-movement String Quartet No. 1 (1994) is full of allusions to earlier musical compositions. At the center is the fourth movement: "the literal dead point: Poussin's grave with the inscription: Et in Arcadia ego" (Thomas Adès). Adès counteracts the idyllic painting of the same name by the French Baroque painter Nicolas Poussin (1594 -1665) with a wild tango. 

Boundless in the here and now

At the beginning of the concert we invite you to open yourself to the music with a short mindfulness exercise, to relax your mind and body and to sharpen your senses.


Kosuke Yoshikawa / Violin
Richard Polle / Violin
Lydia Rinecker / Viola
Senja Rummukainen / Violoncello
Christoph Korn / Clarinet
Enrico Palascino / Violin
Peter Albrecht / Violoncello
Anano Gokieli / Piano

Thomas Adès
Streichquartett Nr. 1 (Arcadiana)

Olivier Messiaen
Quatuor pour la fin du temps for violin, clarinet, violoncello und paino

presented by ZITTY

Thursday, March 19
Doors: 6.30 pm / Start: 7.30 pm