Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin: Sound mirrors

Chamber concert

Seven Romances by Shostakovich and Tchaikovsky's Trio for piano, violin and violoncello


Dmitri Schostakowitsch Sieben Romanzen für Sopran, Violine, Violoncello und Klavier nach Worten von Alexander Blok op. 127

Pjotr Tschaikowsky Trio für Klavier, Violine und Violoncello a-Moll op. 50

Maria Pflüger - violin
Jörg Breuninger - violoncello
Philip Mayers - piano
Johanna Winkel - soprano

Sound mirrors
It was not Shostakovich’s manner to take on windmills through fiery speech, but he rather argued subtly and succinctly through musical means, often sharper and clearer than some masters of verbosity. Those who wanted to hear, understood. Those who do not want to hear, do not understand. Even today.

The year is 1967: 50 years since the Great Socialist October Revolution. What a disaster. This is the message conveyed by the Seven Romances on Poems by Alexander Blok, composed by Dmitri Shostakovich. Ophelia laments the violent, senseless death of her lover; the modern city paralysed by leaden hopelessness and bleak monotony. Even in the final chord the music refuses to console. Is there any way out?

“Yes! We are playing the Tchaikovsky Trio! Surely that’s one of the 1000 things you should have done in your life! We are looking forward to it.” (Maria Pflüger) Having been cancelled in January 2021, hopefully it can finally take place.

Thursday, March 17
Doors: 6.30 pm / Start: 7.30 pm