trio recherche

Ultraschall Berlin – Festival für neue Musik

Helmut Lachenmann
Streichtrio Nr. 1 (1965)

Kristine Tjøgersen
Habitat (2022) für verstärktes Streichtrio und Vocoder

Helmut Lachenmann
Mes Adieux (2021/22) Streichtrio Nr. 2
Composition commission and Ensemble Recherche, Westdeutscher Rundfunk, Milano Musica, Françoise and Jean-Philippe Billarant (IRCAM Paris), Lucerne Festival and Festival Wien Modern, founded by Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung

trio recherche:
Melise Mellinger, violin
Sofia von Atzingen, Viola
Åsa Åkerberg, violoncello

More than half a century lies between the two string trios by Helmut Lachenmann. His String Trio of 1965 was a work of liberation, an 'a-punctual work' that stands at the beginning of Lachenmann's development from serialism to his idea of a 'musique concrète instrumentale'.

Lachenmann's second string trio - promised to the trio recherche for many years and premiered at the Wittener Tage für neue Kammermusik in spring 2022 - is a correspondence piece and yet stands at a natural distance from its 'predecessor'. An exploration of taking leave - and after the orchestral piece My Melodies, another work for which the composer explicitly refers to himself and his subjective perspective. Or is Lachenmann misleading the listener here too?

Between these two works: a string trio by the Norwegian composer Kristine Tjøgersen. As in her orchestral work, which can be heard in the RSB concert, she deals with endangered nature. In this case, with 'habitats', i.e. habitats of exotic animals such as the Giant Banjo Frog or gibbons, but also of birds in Freiburg im Breisgau. A very peculiar 'image of nature' of only apparent naivety, but great sonic charm. And an old refrigerator also makes its presence felt.

Saturday, January 21
Start: 5 pm
Tickets at the box office and online